Whatever works for you.

You know the saying, if everyone was the same… blah blah. But it’s true. This world, this life, would be SO boring.

I say this because, it feels as if I’m earning my MBA or taking a crash course in life/business theory with all of these podcasts and audiobooks I’ve been listening to this year.

Sidenote – Current audiobook: Growth Hacking: Silicon Valley’s Best Secret. It’s 4:45 am and I can’t sleep, so why not gain some knowledge as I stare at the ceiling for next 3 hours? Btw, my former boss from last year  is the co-author of the book. (The one who I have regular accountability chats with, not the recent disrespectful one still trying to screw over my invoices for the work I completed) This book is GOLD. No lie. Seriously, growth-hacking can be applied to anything, it’s not just exclusive to aspiring tech startup unicorns.

Many of my friends are book readers. They all read the same books, or have similar books on their reading list. (It’s funny, because most of my book loving friends are also really organized or OCD, I wonder if there’s a correlation there.) They all tell me I should read.

But I DO read, I read all the time. I’m constantly on the internet reading random articles and studies, researching my random hypothesis of the day to come to a conclusion that will never matter in the grand scheme of things, studying to be a conversational generalist. My ex calls it “eating the internet” haha. Yes, I am constantly eating the internet.

But I hate having a physical, heavy, bulky book. It takes up space in my house, takes up space in my purse which is already filled to the brim with all of my life’s essentials if the world were to end, I’m always spilling water on it and then I have like a crinkly page or a bent corner, everyone can see what I’m reading on the train… ugh, it’s all just too much for me. So I love me some audiobooks, which are frowned upon by my bibliophiles. I’m also creative and love music… I mean there has to be some correlation right?

Since slashing my friend list to just audiophiles seemed a bit excessive and irrational, I’ve resorted to being content with what works for me. I’ve also learned this as I struggle with adult acne, but that’s fodder for another blog post.

Books vs. Audiobooks vs. Podcasts? As long as a wealth of knowledge is coming in, do whatever works for you. No judgement. Everyone is different.

Just take special care of your eyes and ears kiddos.

Leave a Reply

