Forget finding your purpose, choose your purpose instead.

My latest audiotreat is Miracle Morning, by Hal Erod. It took a while (about 5 chapters of fluff to be exact) for the book to warm up, and the narrator’s delivery is beyond cheesy, but now it’s gotten to the good part. I’ll be sure to share my takeaways later in another journal entry.

However, I do want to share an important takeaway from the book right now– the concept of choosing your purpose. In the book, Erod makes a great point: too many people are waiting to discover their life’s purpose, when in reality they get to decide what it is. What’s even better, he says, is that your life purpose can be whatever you choose it to be, and you can change it whenever and however many times you want. How cool is that!

If you’re looking to choose your purpose in life, here are additional tips (from me!) on how to get the most out of the exercise:

  • Try to keep it as simple as possible, you’ll get straight to the point and it’ll be easier to remember.
  • Meditate on your strongest skills and your sources of joy. Do you notice any themes? What do they all have in common?
  • When choosing a purpose there is no right or wrong. Just make sure you stay true to you. I.e. a dancer might decide their purpose is to “push the limitations of the human body” or “spread joy and love through dance”

Here’s what I chose this morning:

My purpose is to empower others through the art of storytelling.
(man, wtf!)

If I had a million bulletpoints the subtext would say:

  • by sharing lessons learned along the way
  • with joy, laughter and positive energy
  • To help them live their best life (one of my versions had this in there at first, but I cut it down)
  • MAN,WTF! stands for music, acting, (k)nowledge, technology, writing, film, and anything goes! =) I might take it out later, but the acronym made me laugh so much, I just had to keep it for now.

So there you have it:

Empower others through the art of storytelling.
(man, wtf!)

Haha it gets me every time. I’m already imagining when I share this during my appearance on Ellen *smirk emoji*

Leave a Reply

